chakra meditation

The Chakra System

What are Chakras?

In the language of Hinduism the word Chakra, meaning "wheel, circle or vortex". When used in meditation or yoga it’s the centred energy system within our body. It’s divided in seven zones of the body, where the energy of the seven points runs freely. The seven major chakras align the spine, starting from the root of the spine to the top crown of the head.


The Centred Energy System Explained:

Think of the seven points along the spine as different organ system. All of these organs must function freely for the body, mind and soul.


Chakra and the 7 Colours

 If you would like to use chakras for healing there is specific vibrations and colours to be used. Normally we speak of the major seven chakras, but the human energy field is made up of thousands of minor chakras, here are the seven major chakra colours.

The seven Major Chakra colours:

1st is Red - The Root chakra: Energy, Instinct, Survival and Security.

2nd is Orange - The abdomen chakra: Emotion, Sexual energy, Creativity.

3rd is Yellow - The solar Plexus chakra:  Mental Functioning, Power, Control, and Freedom to oneself.

4th is Green - The heart chakra: Love, Balance, and Compassion.

5th is Blue - The throat chakra: Speech, Self-expression, and Communication.

6th is Indigo - The third eye chakra: Clairvoyance, psychic abilities, Imagination.

7th is Violet - The crown chakra: spiritual connection, understanding, knowing.


Why use Chakra?

The seven chakra’s are important to our well being. Negative feelings can hinder the spin resulting in disease and sickness. The chakra is an important energy centre that lies in our bodies and cannot be detected by modern medical practices.

Most modern day treatments don’t support or even know about the chakras. In the Eastern world as well as here in Australia, the Aboriginals where also aware of the ability of the chakras.

The Chakra Symbols
chakra symbols and colours

Balancing your Chakras

Balancing your chakras is an excellent way to work on your mental or emotional stability. Channel more confidence, creativity, and joy in your life with a basic understanding of your body's energy centres.

Meditation, Acupuncture and Yoga can be beneficial and easy to practice in a modern way.

Meditation: Visualize the glowing colour of the chakras, starting with the root chakra and moving up. Tune into each part of the body as you move through the chakras and feel any sensations you might notice there.

Acupuncture: Visiting an acupuncturist, they will be able to stimulate points corresponding to the chakras to help stimulate or open under-active chakras and bring them into balance with each other.

Yoga:  Chakra yoga is the practice of using yoga postures and controlled breath, known as pranayama, to cleanse, balance, and open the chakras, or energy canters, of the body. For example, tree pose helps you to feel grounded, corresponding with the root chakra. Camel pose helps to open your heart chakra to the sky. You may wish to use yoga as an active yet meditative way to stimulate and balance your chakras.

Yoga postures associated with hatha yoga are often adopted in chakra yoga because they’re designed by keeping the body’s spine aligned, which is the key highway for the free flow of chakra energy.

The ancient practice is now getting support from modern science, with evidence showing that energy healings can improve your overall health, wellbeing and even helps with fighting cancer.

Stay mindful, in tuned and connected to your body.

The Seven Major Chakras

7 major Chakras

The Sanskrit Name

Sanskrit is a liturgical language of Hinduism and Buddhism. Below is the list of chakras with the Sanskrit name and there health Imbalances.

1st Red Chakra, Sanskrit Name: Muladhara

Imbalances: Anemia, fatigue, obesity, lower back pain, sciatica, depression, poor immune system, constipation, frequent colds or cold hands and cold feet.

2nd Orange Chakra, Sanskrit Name: Svadisthana

Imbalances: Eating disorders. Alcohol and drug abuse, Depression, Low back pain, Asthma or allergies, Candida & yeast infections, Urinary and bladder problems, lack of flexibility, Sensuality issues as well as impotency and frigidity.

 3rd Yellow chakra, Sanskrit Name: Manipura

Imbalances: Digestive problems, Diabetes, gallstones, ulcers, hypoglycemia, muscle cramps, constipation, stomach problems,  Nervousness, toxicity, parasites, colitis and poor memory.

4th Green Chakra, Sanskrit Name: Anahata

Imbalances: Heart and breathing disorders, Heart and breast cancer, Chest pain, High blood pressure, Passivity, Immune system problems and Muscular tension.

5th Blue Chakra, Sanskrit Name: Visuddha

Imbalances: Thyroid imbalances, swollen glands, ear infections,  Fevers and flu, Infections, cervical spine,  Mouth, jaw, tongue, neck and shoulders problems. Hyperactivity, Hormonal disorders such as PMS, mood swings, bloating and menopause.

 6th Indigo Chakra, Sanskrit Name: Anja

Imbalances: Learning disabilities, Headaches, co-ordination problems, sleep disorders and Neurological problems.

7th Violet Chakra, Sanskrit Name: Sahasrara

Imbalances: Migraines, Photosensitivity, Mental illness, Nerve pain, Senility, brain disorders, coordination problems, Epilepsy, Varicose veins, blood vessel problems and Skin Rashes.

Facebook Pagelike Widget